A Special Wedding Cake

A few years ago I took the Wilton Cake decorating classes….since then this “Birthday Party Mama” (as Heston calls me), has made some really fun birthday cakes, at least 6 wedding cakes and quite a few other special occasion cakes. I love to cook, but with baking and having to measure and be exact on for ingredients DEFINITELY challenges me . On June 8th my parents got re-remarried. Yes they were married, divorced for 2 years and got married again. I had the privilege of making the cake. The recipe is below…enjoy!

IMG_2949

Cake Mix:

1 box of cake mix

1 1/3 cup water

3 egg whites

2 tablespoons of unsalted butter

2 teaspoons of almond extract

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

 Mix all the wet ingredients together and slowly add the dry ingredients. Spray your baking pan and also lightly flour the inside. Bake 25-35 minutes at 350 degrees. **I will note that this particular cake I used my Dad’s favorite, butter pecan, it tasted slightly like pancakes, according to my brother.  Also note that one mix, makes one pan…I used 2 batches for this layers cake.

Butter cream Recipe:

1 cup shortening

1 teaspoon of vanilla

4 cups of powder sugar

2 tablespoons of water

1 teaspoon of meringue powder

Cream the shortening, water and vanilla. Slowly add in the powder sugar. Once well mixed, add the meringue powder. The Meringue powder “stiffens” the frosting so keep in air tight container until ready to use. I use the butter cream as my glue, in between my cakes and between the cake and fondant layer and also for details and decorations.

Marshmallow Fondant:

4 cups of mini marshmellos

4 cups of powder sugar

2 tablespoons of water

In a glass bowl melt on high for 1 minute the marshmallows and water.  Stir. Once smooth, after you may need to put in the microwave for an additional 30 seconds, add in the powder sugar slowly. Once it is mostly mixed and before much hardening takes place, place on a counter-top that has a nice dusting of powder sugar  and knead by hand until it is smooth and well mixed. Your fondant should be very pliable and workable. I also have to say “Name Brand” marshmallows and powder sugar works best.  Store in plastic wrap and air tight containers. I have used this fondant for 2-3 weeks after I have made it. It works really well if you let it sit at least over night.

Here are a few other fun cakes I have made…..

2010 winter 013

DSC_0432

D60 #1 487

2010- all 026                                                                                                                                                                                                        Blessings,

Mallory

One thought on “A Special Wedding Cake

Leave a Reply

